Maine Sales Tax Holiday Free Weekend

November 16, 2020

If you live in Maine, I have some bad news: Maine will not be having a sales tax holiday or tax free weekend in 2020. All back to school purchases during July and August will be subject to the normal sales tax rate. Maine is one of few states that does not charge county or city sales tax. In all areas, the total sales tax is 5.5%.

If you happen to be traveling this summer, these 16 states WILL be holding sales tax holidays: Alabama, Arkansas, Connecticut, Florida, Iowa, Maryland, Massachusetts, Mississippi, Missouri, New Mexico, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, and Virginia. Alaska, Delaware, Montana, New Hampshire, and Oregon have no state sales tax. In Minnesota and Pennsylvania, clothing and footwear are exempt.

Keep your fingers crossed and maybe (hopefully!) your legislators will enact a Maine sales tax holiday for 2021.